Me Before You Movie Review!

COULD BE SPOILERY, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes is one of my favorite books of all time. I read it about two years ago (book hipster status) because the cover- you know, the red one- was absolutely stunning and caught my eye. I loved the story of Louisa and Will and read After You right away when it came out last year (I have review for that book if you want to check that out!). So naturally, I was so excited to hear that one of my favorite books was becoming a movie, but also very nervous. Even though Jojo Moyes herself wrote the screenplay, I was still worried that something would go wrong or be too much.

I am so happy to say that my fears were for nothing. This was such a great movie and it was done so well! The relationship between Louisa and Will felt the same as in the book, it was angry and sad and lovely all at the same time and I loved seeing that portrayed accurately on screen. I also loved, and I know this is weird, hating Patrick just as much on screen as I did in the book. Even if he was played by Matthew Lewis. I loved the relationships between the characters and how real the family, friendship and romantic aspects felt. I also was in love with Louisa’s clothes. And the scene where Will gave her the bumblebee tights, all the feelings. Just all of them.

Two things that Jojo Moyes is able to do astoundingly well in her books – not just this one in particular- is not sheltering the reader with a fake happy ending because the story has to have one and showing tremendous growth. And even though this was a screenplay instead, those two things were still apparent. I thought that Will’s ending was portrayed beautifully and truthfully while also making the audience think about his side for little bit. I also truly loved the growth that he and Louisa brought out in each other – one of my favorite parts of the book- was portrayed so, so well on screen.

I loved this movie and the actors who played these fantastic characters. And if any other Jojo Moyes books are going to be adapted for film, please let her write the screenplay!

Rating: 10/10 (I loved it!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

